Board of Education

Board Meetings

Regular meetings of the Board are on the second and fourth Monday of the month at 6 p.m. in the Administration Center, 1520 N. Plum. Meetings may be moved to district schools from time to time.

Board agendas are available on the Friday before the Board meeting at http://go.boarddocs.com/ks/usd308/board.nsf/public

District Mission/Vision/Core Values

Mission: “Students will graduate with the knowledge, skills, and behaviors to be college and career ready.”

Vision: "Today's students prepared for tomorrow’s world."

Core Values: “Honor, persistence, compassion, scholarship and excellence”

Approved by Board on Nov. 11, 2019

Operating Norms of the Board of Education

Adopted by the USD 308 Board of Education on Dec. 8, 2003

  • First and greatest concern is for students, their learning and their welfare Be courteous to each other

  • Express personal opinions, but once the Board has acted accept the will of the majority

  • Keep the confidentiality of privileged information, especially in executive session

  • Be responsible for establishing policy and hold the superintendent accountable for seeing that the policies are administered

  • Make no promises or commitments on behalf of the Board. Be proactive, rather than reactive. Make decisions using deliberate process - receiving information, discussion, dialogue and action

  • Everyone should have a fair chance to discuss what is on his/her mind


Meet the Board

Greg Meredith

Greg Meredith - Board President

Term Expires:
January 2024
meredith.greg@usd308.com

Lance Patterson

Lance Patterson - Board Vice President

Term Expires:
January 2024
patterson.lance@usd308.com

BOE president

Valarie Gibson-Smith

Term Exprires:
January 2024
gibson-smith.valarie@usd308.com

Tad Dower

Tad Dower

Term Expires:
January 2022
dowert@usd308.com

Ron Fisher

Ron Fisher

Term Expires:
January 2024
fisher.ron@usd308.com

Kail Denison

Kail Denison

Term Expires:
January 2022
denison.kail@usd308.com