Horizon Nominees

Two Hutchinson Public School educators are being nominated for the 2022 Kansas Horizon Award.  This state award recognizes exemplary first-year teachers who perform with excellence in an elementary and secondary classroom.


The nominees for USD 308 are Jazzmyn Tolbert, a third-grade teacher at Graber Elementary, and Lindsey Kepka, a high-school alternative teacher.  These two educators will move on to be considered for state recognition by the KSDE Horizon Award Program committee.  Willing recipients are recognized at the KEEN conference on February 11, 2022.


Superintendent of USD 308, Mike Folks, surprised Kepka and Tolbert at their individual buildings to notify them that they had been chosen. Kepka and Toblert received balloons and a special certificate to honor the occasion. Both teachers were surrounded by their students and congratulated by their building principals during the surprise.


“Hutchinson Public Schools is proud of these individuals, as well as the other nominees across the district. We wish Lindsey and Jazzmyn good luck as they move on to the state recognition stage of the award,” said Folks. 

 To learn more about the Kansas Horizon Award Program, visit: