Kansas Horizon Award Program

HUTCHINSON, KANSAS – Two Hutchinson Public School educators are being nominated for the 2023 Kansas Horizon Award.  The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE), recognizes exemplary first-year teachers in elementary and secondary classrooms.

 District administrators have nominated Alex Rodriguez, a modified special education teacher from Hutchinson Middle School – 7, and Reganne Barrett, a fourth-grade teacher from Morgan Elementary School. These two educators will move on to be considered for state recognition by the KSDE Horizon Award Program committee.  Horizon Award winners receive special recognition during the KEEN State Education Conference, which takes place each February in Topeka, KS.

On Tuesday, October 11, 2022, superintendent Dr. Dawn Johnson and Sheila Berridge, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment, surprised Rodriguez and Barrett at their buildings to notify them of this special honor. Both educators were congratulated by building leaders, staff, and students to help celebrate their nominations.

 “Ms. Rodriguez is able to motivate our students with a level of perseverance and compassion that inspires us daily. She is able to accomplish this by creating a consistent environment of love and support within her classroom,” said Nathan Henry, principal of HMS-7.

“Reganne Barrett is incredibly intentional about creating meaningful connections with each of her students.  She believes developing strong authentic relationships is the first step to student achievement.  Mrs. Barrett is a positive contributing team member that holds herself to the highest professional standards,” said Bryan Cunningham, principal of Morgan Elementary.

To learn more about the Kansas Horizon Award Program, visit: